The International Chair on Cardiometabolic Risk rewards the best three European articles on abdominal obesity and cardiometabolic risk

The Chair is pleased to announce the winners of the European Media Prize, as selected by a jury of three internationally renowned experts: Prof. Jean-Pierre Bassand, Cardiologist (France), Prof. John Betteridge, Endocrinologist (UK), and Prof. Eberhard Standl, European Association for Cardiovascular Prevention & Rehabilitation (Germany). They unanimously recommended the following winners:

  • Boris Hansel (France) for his website This comprehensive online resource is open to the general public and designed to enhance understanding of abdominal obesity and the metabolic syndrome. It contains key messages on how to reduce global cardiometabolic risk by making appropriate and reasonable lifestyle changes.
  • Charlotte Rigby (United Kingdom) for her article “Public Health: Obesity Crisis” published in Pharmacy Magazine. This article was chosen for its outstanding description of how expanding waistlines are a sign of disease and a major public health issue.
  • Debora Taddei (Spain) for her article “Síndrome metabólico, ¡lo puedes superar!” (Metabolic syndrome, you can beat it!) published in Dietética y Salud. The article clearly ties cardiometabolic risk/metabolic syndrome to elevated waist circumference, and its upbeat tone gives concerned consumers the confidence they need to tackle their weight issues.

The International Chair on Cardiometabolic Risk would like to congratulate the three winners and all participants for making this competition a success.